new year, same me…only better with any luck

by kaleidegirl

today 2014 closes. i think for the sake of looking back and being able to make sense of a year, i will start using tags for the month or season or whatever.

i know i started out the year getting my knee fixed, looks like i may start the next one that way too.

i celebrated my 37th birthday with my first surprise party full of some of my nearest and dearest. as a child my birthday was frowned upon on top of ignored so a surprise party was about as good as it gets.

my little lady had her last ‘teen’ birthday and turns 20 this June. my husband stumbled into the last year of his 30’s.

we handed out candy on Halloween for the first time and made plans for a mini haunted house in the garage for the next one.

our xmas rocked my socks. like wow. great times with family, kids being super adorable, ugly sweaters and a reindeer people family being uber cute, yummy food, some decent wine and one of my sisters rockin’ her style like a diva. it was great. oh, we all got each other great gifts from the heart and for the practical and by practical i don’t just mean all my photography stuff. new watch, corset, dishes, shoes and a bamboo tree. like wtf? does it get much better? that was just what us gals got. i finally gave Chris the kind of day he deserves with gifts he really wanted. we pranked Mary pretty good too.

the husband and i are in therapy to deal with his new diagnosis and are on the road to improving the quality of our marriage. i’m quite hopeful.

i usually avoid resolutions this time of year but i’m making some this year.

~waist training or crunches every day. even just a little.

~walk the dogs more. they need it and i want to do things with my husband that don’t involve a TV.

~read more, like i used to.

~write at least 500 words a day or 2-3 pages in my journal

~stop trying so hard to help people who haven’t asked. it must be so annoying so i won’t do it to people anymore

~don’t settle anymore. wait for what i really like/want rather than “omg must have now!!!”

~don’t give out unsolicited advice

~do what i want

 

that should be plenty. or too much. who cares.

happy fuckin’ new year!

